Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major Op. 81a (Les Adieux) Revised Ed. - Piano Solo

Catalog: HN1223

Price: $10.76

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The farewell / Vienna, May 4, 1809 / on the departure of his Imperial Highness the revered Archduke Rudolph - Beethoven added this inscription to the manuscript of this sonata. It is today know by its French title les Adieux and numbers amongst the composer's best-loved piano works. The first movement of the sonata was presumably written directly before the archduke hurriedly left Vienna. Rudolph and other members of the imperial family fled to Hungary to avoid having to endure the French troops' siege and conquest. On his return in January 1810, Beethoven was able to present him with the complete sonata, having written not only the farewell, but also absence and return.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Adagio
  • II. Andante espressivo
  • III. Vivacissimamente
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
Arranger/Editor: Gertsch and Perahia
Catalog Number: HN1223
Pages: 34