Souvenir D'un Lieu Cher Op. 42 - Violin and Piano

Catalog: HN1275

Regular Price: $18.95

On Sale for $13.27

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Memory of a dear place is the title given to this collection of three enchanting pieces for violin and piano. The place in question was the country estate of Brailov that belonged to Tchaikovskys patron and friend Nadezhda von Meck. He stayed there in idyllic seclusion in May 1878 and completed this work. These pieces were composed very close in time to his Violin Concerto, and they too demonstrate Tchaikovsky's matchless gifts as a Romantic master of melody. For this edition, the Russian Tchaikovsky specialist Alexander Komarov offers the highest degree of editorial precision, having drawn on all the relevant sources from both Russian and international archives. In the course of his work he has also been able to disprove beyond a doubt the view held up to now that the title Souvenir d'un lieu cher was only added after Tchaikovsky's death.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Meditation
  • 2. Scherzo
  • 3. Melodie
Sample Pages
Publisher: Henle
Composer/Author: Tchaikovsky, P. I.
Arranger/Editor: Komarov, Alexander
Catalog Number: HN1275