Symphony No. 9 - Miniature Score

Catalog: UE34319

Price: $35.96

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The large-scale form of "Symphony No. 9" is unusual in a number of ways. It reminds in no way of the ninth symphonies of famous predecessors. Two slow movements, an Andante comodo at the beginning and an Adagio at the end, form the frame for two of the most parodistic and embittered inner movements that Mahler ever wrote - a ländler-waltz combination, and the 'Rondo-Burleske', a bitter, ironic movement that is derisively dedicated 'to my brothers in Apollo'. The most extraordinary part of Mahler's last completed symphony must certainly be the slow finale - a 20-minute long intensively singing movement laden with conflict that includes references to earlier works by Mahler, in slow motion as it were ("Urlicht"," Ablösung im Sommer", the "Scherzo of Symphony No. 3", "Der Abschied" from "Das Lied von der Erde", and "Oft denk' ich, sie sind nur ausgegangen" from the "Kindertotenlieder"); it indeed seems that a circle is being closed. (Reinhold Kubik) Universal Edition continues its new study score standard. These completely redesigned scores offer an unparalleled insight into the music of the last hundred years. Great care has been taken to select the best available content for this journey through music history, and every score has been edited according to the latest quality standards.

Publisher: Universal
Composer/Author: Mahler, Gustav
Catalog Number: UE34319