Sonatas for Violin and Piano Volume 1

Catalog: BA9014

Price: $43.16

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Beethoven’s ten sonatas for piano and violin, along with those by Mozart, constitute the heart of this classical music genre. Following the lead of Mozart’s late sonatas, Beethoven lets the violin part become increasingly independent from the piano part.

Not only does Clive Brown’s scholarly critical edition offer a meticulously edited text but for the first time it presents a list of sources and a Critical Report. Furthermore Brown documents a great number of passages where, by today’s standards, the notation raises some questions. These passages had previously been overlooked in the autograph but their significance is now clarified.

Volume 1 of the compete sonatas includes op. 12 nos. 1-3, op. 23, and op. 24.

Table of Contents:
  • Sonata in D major op. 12 nr. 1
  • Sonata in A major op. 12 nr. 2
  • Sonata in E-flat major op. 12 nr. 3
  • Sonata in a minor op. 23
  • Sonata in F major op. 24
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
Arranger/Editor: Brown, Clive
Catalog Number: BA9014

Related Products: