Sonatas for Violin and Piano Volume 2

Catalog: BA9015

Price: $48.56

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Beethoven’s ten sonatas for piano and violin, along with those by Mozart, constitute the heart of this classical music genre. Following the lead of Mozart’s late sonatas, Beethoven lets the violin part become increasingly independent from the piano part.

Not only does Clive Brown’s scholarly critical edition offer a meticulously edited text but for the first time it presents a list of sources and a Critical Report. Furthermore Brown documents a great number of passages where, by today’s standards, the notation raises some questions. These passages had previously been overlooked in the autograph but their significance is now clarified.

Volume 2 of the complete sonatas contains Op. 30 nos. 1-3, Op. 40, and Op. 96.

Table of Contents:
  • Sonata in A major Op. 30 Nr. 1
  • Sonata in c minor Op. 30 Nr. 2
  • Sonata in G major Op. 30 Nr. 3
  • Sonata in A major Op. 47
  • Sonata in G major Op. 96
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
Arranger/Editor: Brown, Clive
Catalog Number: BA9015

Related Products: