Concerto - Clarinet and Piano

Catalog: 9790550115736

Price: $79.95

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Kalevi Aho's (b. 1949) Clarinet concerto (2005) has five movements played without pause. The beginning "Tempestoso" is dramatic and powerful, but there is also a beautiful, slow middle section. The second movement consists of a virtuosic solo cadenza, which is dominated by mysterious tremolos on the clarinet.The cadenza leads to "Vivace, con brio", which is the central climax of the concerto and the most virtuosic movement both for the orchestra and the soloist. Then follows the slow, melancholic and lyrical fourth movement "Adagio molto". The "Epilogue" is slow, too; the atmosphere of the last movement is unreal, mysterious. The solo part at the end consists largely of broken, multiphonic clarinet sounds before the concerto fades out into a silence. The orchestral study score (ISMN 9790550096332) is available for sale and the orchestral material for hire.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Tempestoso
  • 2. Cadenza
  • 3. Vivace, con brio
Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Composer/Author: Aho, Kalevi
Catalog Number: 9790550115736
Pages: 84