4 Pieces - Double Bass and Piano

Catalog: BA11556

Price: $18.95

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The renowned Czech double bass player, composer, conductor and teacher František Hertl (1906–1973) wrote many concert and teaching pieces for his instrument. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument’s expressive potential and sound qualities.

These four pieces for double bass comprising a Prelude, Burlesque, Nocturne and Tarantella were composed in 1968. They have remained very popular among double bass players to the present day while being extremely challenging to play. Our edition adopts the musical text from the Supraphon edition of 1969. The double bass part and the Foreword have been revised by Stefan Schäfer, the solo double bassist of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Prelude
  • 2. Burlesque
  • 3. Nocturne
  • 4. Tarantella
Sample Pages
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Composer/Author: Hertl, Frantisek
Arranger/Editor: Schafer, Stefan
Catalog Number: BA11556
Pages: 28