Over the Garden Wall Songs and Games from England - Book/CD

Catalog: 09971301

Price: $31.49

2 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Over the Garden Wall is a one-of-a-kind collection of thirty-eight traditional children's songs, rhymes and games from England, beautifully illustrated with rare photos from the past, along with the fresh faces of children from today. The enclosed CD contains authentic field recordings collected in the 1940s, 50s and 60s, along with new recordings of children from schools in villages, towns and cities throughout the UK. Second in a series of volumes designed to bring scholarly research and practical application together in one anthology, this book is perfect for use in both home and school. Parents and children will enjoy exploring past, present and future through England's rich heritage of musical play, while teachers will find activities for the classroom. Over the Garden Wall includes historical references for each song, pedagogical indices and suggestions for developing a literacy-based music curriculum. Ideally suited for teaching musical skills, this collection provides a vocabulary of music and play from which children can draw today.

Available: Book/CD.

Suggested for grades 1-6.

Table of Contents:
  • Rosy Apple, Lemon And A Pear
  • Em Pom Pi
  • Johnny, Get Up And Light The Fire
  • Matthew, Mark, Luke And John
  • My Father Is The Captain (Of The Plaine-Colonio)
  • One Two Pom Pom (The More We Are Together)
  • One, Two, Three, Four, Five
  • Over The Garden Wall
  • Up A Ladder, Down A Ladder
  • Andy Pandy
  • Bluebells, Cockleshells
  • England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales
  • House To Let
  • I Call In My Very Best Friend
  • Mrs. One Goes In
  • Mother Bought A Chicken
  • Mrs. Red Went To Bed
  • Mrs. White Had A Fright
  • Bobby Bingo
  • Down In The Meadow
  • The Grand Old Duke Of York
  • Here Comes Mrs. Macaroni
  • Hey Little Lassie, Will You Have Me?
  • I Sent A Letter To My Love
  • I've Been To Holland (Turn The Glasses Over)
  • King William Was King David's Son
  • Look At That Old Silly Woman
  • Mary Malaga
  • There Was A Lovely Princess
  • Three Times Around Went Our Gallant Ship
  • Goodbye, Mary, While You're Away
  • I'm A Texas Girl
  • My Girl's A Corker
  • What Time Is It, Mr. Wolf?
  • I'm A Bow-Legged Chicken (The Tennessee Wig-Walk)
  • Here We Go Looby Loo
  • Cock Robin
  • The Muffin Man

Sample Pages
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Composer/Author: Brumfield, Susan
Arranger/Editor: Susan Brumfield
Catalog Number: 09971301
Pages: 160