Fantaisie Brillante, op. 86 - Alto Sax and Piano

Catalog: JP4111

Price: $8.78

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


Jean-Baptiste Singelee (born September 25, 1812 in Bruxelles and died September 29, 1875 in Paris) was a violinist, conductor and composer. He performed as a violinist in the Orchestra of the Opera-comique in Paris and then as first violin of the Orchestra of the Royal theatre de la Monnaie in Bruxelles. He was conductor of the theatre of Gant, and then at the Theatre de La Monnaie de Bruxelles. He wrote ballets, two violin concertos and many instrumental pieces, including the first saxophone quartet, Premier Quatuor, Op. 53, completed in 1857. Singelee was a longtime friend of Adolphe Sax and one of the first composers to treat the saxophone as a serious classical instrument.

"Fantaisie Brillante" op. 86 was first published in 1862, and is a typical 19th century theme and variations. It is short with only one variation plus the more technical finale. Total duration approximately 4 minutes.

Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
Composer/Author: Singelee, Jean-Baptiste
Catalog Number: JP4111