Bach Initiative, The - C Treble Instruments

Catalog: G9969

Price: $8.06

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $75.


The best way to develop ensemble musicianship is through the thoughtful exploration and performance of great literature. In this spirit, Dr. Peter Folliard presents The Bach Initiative, a collection of twenty-six wonderful Bach chorales for instrumental ensembles of any type, size, or level.

The Bach Initiative includes each chorale in its original four-part harmonization for all members of the ensemble, giving instrumentalists the unique yet important opportunity to see the full score—and to better understand how each part interacts with the whole. As a result, players naturally develop greater awareness, sensitivity, and intuition.

The chorales are intentionally transcribed for flexibility, so any individual may play any part at any time. And while the pedagogical applications are virtually endless, Folliard provides more than a dozen creative variations for rehearsing these chorales that are certain to enhance multiple aspects of ensemble musicianship.

The Bach Initiative also offers pedagogical information, including insightful scholarship about intonation, instrument ranges, and appropriate articulation. Folliard also provides a succinct discussion of chord analysis, non-chord tones, and voice leading.

The undisputed quality and relative brevity of the Bach chorales make them perfect for the rehearsal room and the concert hall. And the convenient and creative way in which they are presented in The Bach Initiative is certain to inspire new levels of musicianship in bands, orchestras, and other instrumental ensembles of all levels.

Table of Contents:
  • Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme
  • Nun lasst uns Gott dem Herren
  • Dir, dir, Jehova, will ich singen
  • Es ist gewisslich an der Zeit
  • Jesu, deine tiefen Wunde
  • Komm, Heiliger Geist, Herre Gott
  • Jesu, nun sei gepreiset
  • O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort
  • Schmucke dich, o liebe Seele
  • Weg, mein Herz, mit den Gedanken
  • Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ
  • Sei Lob und Ehr dem hochsten Gut
  • Ich bin ja, Herr, in deiner Macht
  • Allein Gott in der Hoh sei Ehr
  • Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 64/8
  • Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227/7
  • Christ lag in Todesbanden
  • Was frag ich nach der Welt
  • O Herre Gott, dein gottlich Wort
  • Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein, BWV 77/6
  • Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein, BWV 2/6
  • Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott
  • Das alte Jahr vergangen ist
  • Du Friedefurst, Herr Jesu Christ
  • Helft mir Gotts Gute preisen
  • Verleih und Frieden gnadiglich
Publisher: GIA
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Folliard, Peter J.
Catalog Number: G9969