Blessed Are They - Concert Band

Catalog: 10100145

Regular Price: $55.00

On Sale for $44.00

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Johannes Brahms was not a religious man in the usual sense of the term, so it should be of no surprise that when he wrote the German Requiem, it did not follow the prescribed five movement form of the traditional requiem mass, but instead contained seven movements.

The first time Brahms combined orchestra with chorus and soloists, it is considered to be his choral masterwork. While the style is unabashedly romantic with all the depth and beauty associated with the music of Brahms, the form is clearly influenced by Handel and reflects Brahms' intensive study of earlier masters.

"Blessed Are They" is the sublime first movement of the German Requeim, and the original version pairs the chorus with the orchestra to create a heavy, somber mood.

This skillfully crafted arrangement for concert band has become a staple in literature for developing bands. Grade 3. (5:00)

Sample Pages Audio Sample
Publisher: Ludwig-Masters
Composer/Author: Brahms, Johannes
Arranger/Editor: Buehlman, Barbara
Catalog Number: 10100145